Virginia LCV releases 2019 Scorecard ranking all state lawmakers on their environmental record

Climate obstruction, coal ash cleanup highlight fast-paced session

For Immediate Release:
Thursday, June 20, 2019

Lee Francis | Deputy Director
Virginia League of Conservation Voters
(804) 225-1902 |


RICHMOND – Today, the Virginia League of Conservation Voters released its 2019 General Assembly Conservation Scorecard, the only comprehensive tool for voters in Virginia to see whether their lawmakers are prioritizing the environment when they’re in Richmond.

The votes scored in this year’s scorecard cover a wide range of issues important to conservation causes in Virginia, everything from climate action, clean energy policy and protecting water quality, to transportation, land use, open space preservation and redistricting reform. Overall, this year’s legislator scores reflect votes cast on 20 bills in the House of Delegates and 15 pieces of legislation in the Senate.

In addition to the vote tallies, the Scorecard takes a deep dive into policy analysis and the politics that framed the 2019 session, including a look at the February controversies that engulfed Richmond and how they will impact Virginia LCV’s work going forward.

“We made serious gains for our environment in 2019, including the passage of landmark legislation eliminating the threat of toxic coal ash throughout the Chesapeake Bay watershed. Unfortunately, we also saw big setbacks when it comes to addressing our largest environmental threat – climate change,” said Michael Town, executive director of Virginia LCV. “Virginians shouldn’t have to choose between clean water and clean air – we deserve both. With all 140 seat up for grabs this fall, we will be working in 2019 to ensure the next General Assembly takes the climate crisis seriously and acts to protect our environment for all Virginians.”

The Scorecard helps hold lawmakers accountable when they fail to vote on the right side of conservation, and also showcases the many delegates and state senators who have prioritized our environment and have the strong voting record to prove it.

Overall, 49 legislators (11 state senators and 38 delegates) earned a perfect 100 percent voting record, giving them the designation of “Legislative Hero” for 2019.


Virginia LCV 2019 Legislative Heroes

Senator George Barker

Senator Jennifer Boysko

Senator Creigh Deeds

Senator Barbara Favola

Senator Janet Howell

Senator Mamie Locke

Senator Dave Marsden

Senator Monty Mason

Senator Jennifer McClellan

Senator Jeremy McPike

Senator Dick Saslaw


Delegate Dawn Adams

Delegate Lashrecse Aird

Delegate Hala Ayala

Delegate Lamont Bagby

Delegate John Bell

Delegate Jeffrey Bourne

Delegate David Bulova

Delegate Betsy Carr

Delegate Jennifer Carroll Foy

Delegate Lee Carter

Delegate Kelly Convirs-Fowler

Delegate Karrie Delaney

Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn

Delegate Wendy Gooditis

Delegate Elizabeth Guzman

Delegate Cliff Hayes

Delegate Charniele Herring

Delegate Patrick Hope

Delegate Chris Hurst

Delegate Jay Jones

Delegate Kaye Kory

Delegate Paul Krizek

Delegate Mark Levine

Delegate Alfonso Lopez

Delegate Michael Mullin

Delegate Kathleen Murphy

Delegate Cia Price

Delegate David Reid

Delegate Debra Rodman

Delegate Danica Roem

Delegate Mark Sickles

Delegate Mark Simon

Delegate Rip Sullivan

Delegate David Toscano

Delegate Kathy Tran

Delegate Schuyler VanValkenburg

Delegate Jeion Ward

Delegate Vivian Watts


Another 10 delegates and eight state senators earned scores between 75 and 99 percent, making them Legislative Leaders for 2019.

Virginia LCV 2019 Legislative Leaders

Senator Rosalyn Dance

Senator Adam Ebbin

Senator John Edwards

Senator Lynwood Lewis

Senator Louise Lucas

Senator Chap Petersen

Senator Lionell Spruill

Senator Scott Surovell


Delegate Steve Heretick

Delegate Matthew James

Delegate Mark Keam

Delegate Joseph Lindsey

Delegate Delores McQuinn

Delegate Ken Plum

Delegate Sam Rasoul

Delegate Luke Torian

Delegate Cheryl Turpin

Delegate Roslyn Tyler


In addition to these honors, Virginia LCV recognized four lawmakers for their individual leadership on the environment with 2019 Legislative Leadership Awards: Delegate Karrie Delaney, Delegate Charniele Herring, Delegate Lee Ware and Senator Jennifer McClellan.

At-a-glance legislator scores can be found here. The full 2019 Conservation Scorecard is accessible here.

About us:
Established in 2000, the Virginia League of Conservation Voters serves as the political voice of the state’s conservation community, working to make sure Virginia’s elected officials recognize that our natural heritage is an environmental and economic treasure for all. Virginia LCV works with conservation leaders across Virginia and strives for a conservation majority in state government. We secure good public policies on the state level and hold public officials accountable for their positions on environmental issues. For more information, visit